Thoughts on Healing

A mysterious outbreak of a painful and extremely itchy rash over the last couple of months – that turned out to be scabies – was an intense opportunity to reflect on important principles of life and healing, and here are some of those thoughts:

  1. What did I do to deserve this? Maybe my sin is involved? was God trying to get my attention? These are important questions to ask. Perhaps I was not listening to the Holy Spirit closely and this affliction was intended for me to rack my brain thinking deeply about how I may have offended the LORD. I did that. I inventored everything about my life and meditated on whether I have faults that caused offence. If nothing big and compelling comes to mind, think about whether the problem gives a clue to what problem is. In this case, I thought about several upsetting scenarios. Was the infestation of microscopic mites in my skin a sign that it’s not one big thing, but just many little things have added up to become a big irritation to God? Small sins are easy to ignore – we get used to our own little pecadillos. We shouldn’t. Was it God’s way of signalling to me that I had become callus? The ease with which we are forgiven by Christ and his infinate mercy is not suppose to taken for granted. I stirred up anew serious remorse and heart-sorrow over all my sins – and found new, deep appreciation for Christ’s grace. While trying to alleviate the intense itching in the burning hot shower and pitied myself for pain I realized that I was like the damned in hell and pitied their miserable souls – God have mercy on me, in pain I realized I have been unsympathetic about the lost souls headed for eternity in hell. As I kept thinking I imagined perhaps the mites were akin to evil spirits using my bad habbits and fleshly attitudes as hooks and footholds for attacking my joy – like so many Liliputians trying down Gulliver with their ropes while he slumbered. The horror of that thought filled with the urge to awake with zeal and throw aside all besetting sins and every hindering weight. Also as I looked at my own skin, I saw my enemy right there, and held my own flesh in contempt, and it made me miserable, and so I pondered the foolisness of vanity and the deciet of human beauty. Eternal life is what matters. I also realized just to be free from pain is a great occassion for rejoicing, and that that was something that I had failed to appreciate when I was well. I mulled over these and many other like thoughts. I can’t say if any of these things were the reason for why God allowed me to get sick with scabies, but I rejoiced to humble myself and deal with each of them in turn. I got the victory in my suffering. Affliction is a great opportunity to think very hard about one’s spiritual condition and get fully back on track.
  2. I forgot, what does the Bible say about healing? Yah, I hadn’t thought about that in long time. Suddenly it became an urgent matter to go back to the Book and read whatever I could on healing. I searched for “heal” and “healing” and such words and jotted down a page a list of passages from Luke 4:18 to Revelation 22:2, then I scanned the list to distill principles. I saw seven things: 1. There is healing because Jesus is annointed to heal and the cross is our healing; 2. come to Jesus, listen to the word, be touched by Jesus, have faith; 3. draw neigh to the kingdom of God, be converted, know your need, be poor of spirit; 4. reject uncleanness and sin; rebuke unclean spirits, take authority; don’t let the devil vex you; no evil spirits – win the spiritual warfare by Jesus’ name and shed blood, and ask for the Holy Spirit to come and bring deliverance; 5. God has a timing, a “certain day”, healing could be easy or something wildly onorthodox and unexpected; wait and eat right; there are natural remedies; 6. Get other Christians interceding! laid hands; oil; prayer; forgive others and be at peace; 7. receive and hold the “virtue” (power); let it happen; in the name of Jesus – for his glory.
  3. Don’t accuse God, God is good, he doesn’t have to explain himself. He gave me affliction, so I chose affliction (Job 36:21). “Take me home If you want me home Lord, I would not live always.” Thank him profusely for the past time of health, and thank him for the current time of suffering because – in faith – it will work out for the best: “For they verily for a few days chastened us after their own pleasure; but he for our profit, that we might be partakers of his holiness.” Hebrews 12:10. Keyword: MERCY. “God have mercy, Christ have mercy!” God has already shown mercy – thank you LORD! for he afflicted me less than what I deserve – now may God be super-abundant in mercy and end the trial and testing. Never act entitled and demanding. Never “bargain” for healing: two problems with that, first off, realize you have nothing worthwhile to give God; secondly, even if you did, how would God glorify his great name if he “sold” you a healing in exchange for your bargain? You’ve insulted God actually. Repent. Promise nothing, only ask for mercy. Everything belongs to God, and we live because he remembers us for Christ’s sake and shines his face of blessing on us and we live – or else we just die and return to him. Glory to God. God be praised. Christ be glorified. Surrender to him, come what may.
  4. Read the psalms. The pslamist complains to God about his misery and I adopt his words as my prayer, saying amen and amen.

Pslam 38

1. O LORD, rebuke me not in thy wrath: neither chasten me in thy hot displeasure.
2 For thine arrows stick fast in me, and thy hand presseth me sore.
3 There is no soundness in my flesh because of thine anger; neither is there any rest in my bones because of my sin.
4 For mine iniquities are gone over mine head: as an heavy burden they are too heavy for me.
5 My wounds stink and are corrupt because of my foolishness.
6 I am troubled; I am bowed down greatly; I go mourning all the day long.
7 For my loins are filled with a loathsome disease: and there is no soundness in my flesh.
8 I am feeble and sore broken: I have roared by reason of the disquietness of my heart.
9 Lord, all my desire is before thee; and my groaning is not hid from thee.
10 My heart panteth, my strength faileth me: as for the light of mine eyes, it also is gone from me.
11 My lovers and my friends stand aloof from my sore; and my kinsmen stand afar off.
12 They also that seek after my life lay snares for me: and they that seek my hurt speak mischievous things, and imagine deceits all the day long.
13 But I, as a deaf man, heard not; and I was as a dumb man that openeth not his mouth.
14 Thus I was as a man that heareth not, and in whose mouth are no reproofs.
15 For in thee, O LORD, do I hope: thou wilt hear, O Lord my God.
16 For I said, Hear me, lest otherwise they should rejoice over me: when my foot slippeth, they magnify themselves against me.
17 For I am ready to halt, and my sorrow is continually before me.
18 For I will declare mine iniquity; I will be sorry for my sin.
19 But mine enemies are lively, and they are strong: and they that hate me wrongfully are multiplied.
20 They also that render evil for good are mine adversaries; because I follow the thing that good is.
21 Forsake me not, O LORD: O my God, be not far from me.
22 Make haste to help me, O Lord my salvation.

 



Comment (name and email not required)

